Kim’s Reflections on Google Docs and Draftback

Here's proof that my post was composed in Google Docs/Drive.
Here’s proof that my post was composed in Google Docs/Drive.

I’ve been using Google Docs to compose writing since 2011. It’s by far my favorite writing tool, and I use it virtually every day. Since I can use it on my phone, Chromebook, and Android tablet, it’s incredibly convenient. It also has a nice layout and multiple different ways for me to adjust the text size, color, etc. to my liking. I also like that the background in the “print layout” view is a pale grey, which is easy on my eyes. Basically, it’s my ideal writing tool and I use it whenever I can, and I’m glad it came to my attention when it did. (I have years of writing stored on my Google Drive!)

Unless told to do otherwise, I write anything and everything in here, from paragraph-long responses to, on one occasion, a 150-page NaNoWriMo project. The infinite space that Google Docs allows makes its uses limitless. It’s so much easier to write on here than anywhere else because I can go back and edit what I need to edit by scrolling or using ctrl + f on any device. I could do this on Microsoft Word as well, but not from my phone!

After composing in here, I copy everything, paste it into WordPress (or, for my personal blogs, Blogspot), and add images and links as I see fit before publication. I only really use Drive for drafting purposes if something is going to be published online.

When I watched the Draftback of my blog post, I was surprised that it had as many revisions as it did (though most of those were individual keystrokes). I learned that I often add a lot of information in the beginning of a post that I cut before publishing, and that I make a lot of revisions while I’m still typing (changing word choices, correcting typos, etc.) I’m a linear writer, but I often jump around to fix things while I’m working.

Aside from being one of the coolest things I’ve ever witnessed, the Draftback of my blog post draft showed me a lot of things about my writing process that I otherwise never would’ve thought about. I might set these up for some of my longer writing assignments and personal projects, now that I think about it…

Watch it here!

http://draftback.com/embed/cce3c940c31ef4e8523553753c69d5ab?autoplay=true

Kim’s Reflections on Google Docs and Draftback

One thought on “Kim’s Reflections on Google Docs and Draftback

Leave a Reply

